The National Logistics Academy

ADR Certificate

Overview of role

The ADR programme is aimed at existing rigid and artic vehicle drivers who are wanting to obtain an ADR certificate so they can transport dangerous goods in 7 classes. The ADR licence is split into different classes depending on types of materials to be carried.  The course covers how to effectively deal and/or identify gases, flammable liquids, toxics, flammable solids and other various substances.

The optional ADR Tankers provide the driver with a good understanding on the specific additional provisions and regulations applicable to the use of tankers and tank containers. A Petroleum Passport option enables driver to deliver fuel.

Typical length

2 weeks

Entry requirements

Candidates must hold at least a valid UK category C licence and be at least 19 years old.

What drivers will learn

  • Relevant regulations
  • UN class hazards
  • Health and safety
  • Transfer and disposal of waste
  • Material safety data
  • Site rules
  • First aid
  • Emergency procedures and incident test


  • Class 2 - Gases
  • Class 3 - Flammable liquids
  • Class 4 - Flammable solids
  • Class 5 - Oxidising substances and organic peroxides
  • Class 6 - Toxic and infectious substances
  • Class 8 - Corrosives substances
  • Class 9 - Miscellaneous substances

Optional tankers module and Petroleum Passport.


The skills bootcamp is delivered and tested remotely.